PH Standard Time

Contact Us

+012 345 67890

Email Us


Political Background

The town was created by virtue of the declaration of Fray Mateo Bernard, Spanish Parish Priest of Tagoloan in June 1877 and was approved by the Chief of the Second Politico Military District of Mindanao (Misamis) on September 6, 1877. The town was organized in the name of His Majesty Don Alfonso XI, the King of Spain. Governor General Don Domingo Moriones Y Murillo named the place Velabieta, a town of the Province of Misamis. However, the nine (9) mountain settlements continued to call the place Impasugong.

When the Administrative Code of the Department of Mindanao and Sulu was approved in 1916, Bukidnon became a regular province and Impasugong remained as one of its town with five (5) barrios, namely: Poblacion, La Fortuna, Impalutao, Guihean and Dumalaguing.

About the Municipality

A Municipal spanning 105,116 hectares, 13% of the province's total land area with 82.34% classified as timberlands and 17.66% as alienable and disposable lands, of which 72% is dedicated to agriculture. The area includes 13 barangays and 53 sitios, categorized into 1 urban, 3 urbanizing, and 9 rural barangays. It has a population of 54,876 and 12,701 households according to the 2022 CBMS, with 75.79% Higaonon Indigenous Peoples. Located 75 km from Cagayan de Oro and 30 km from Malaybalay City.

  • Bontongon
  • Bulonay
  • Capitan Bayong
  • Cawayan
  • Dumalaguing
  • Guihean
  • Hagpa
  • Impalutao
  • Kalabugao
  • Kibenton
  • La Fortuna
  • Poblacion
  • Sayawan